Good Men Really Do Exist


Life is good.  Prior to marrying Emory, I read many of the Nicolas Sparks novels in search of a glimmer of hope. True love must surely exist or how could Nick possibly write such great love stories? Someone, somewhere must have experienced it right?  Finally after many years, trials, and heartaches, I understand real love.

Caution to the reader.  What you are about to read could make you gag.  After a couple of lines you may just quit reading and say, “No one gets treated like that.”  You may even laugh and call me a liar.  My hope would be that you see love is real and if I can find it, so can you.  So here we go.

Every morning I wake up to my husband bringing me a diet coke in the bed. As I am getting ready, Emory is preparing my breakfast and no it’s not just a bowl of cereal. Sometimes it’s pancakes, waffles, sausage or even grits because that’s what we eat in the south.  I know what you’re thinking….well is that what makes you feel loved?  Yes and no.  Yes because I love being spoiled and having someone do nice things for me, but no in the sense that I don’t measure his love by what he does.  It would be impossible to measure that, although he always tells me he loves me more.

It’s his consistency.  For almost three years he’s treated me the same way everyday without fail.  At first my head was full of skepticism.  Like every other woman who suffered a failed marriage, I thought it would be only a matter of time before the “real” Emory rose to the surface.  To my delight, acting like a gentleman is just his nature.

Emory has been an Alabama State Trooper for the last 23 years so strength, honor and courage are three words that greatly define his character.  Every traffic stop has the potential of going bad, but yet he does it anyway.  He works all the overtime possible to make up for me working part-time.  He cleans the house, does the laundry and cooks dinner every night so I can study.  He supports my dreams and is willing to make sacrifices to see them come true.

I owe so much to him for my well-being.  My thoughts are finally clear and my life is coming together.  I feel safe, fear has left me (for the most part), and I am now able to trust another person.  Bottom line, I have a great man who is truly a gift from God.  He understands scripture and what it means to love a woman.  I’m grateful God sent this man to me and for his dedication to our marriage.  His love helps me everyday to recover from the many years of mental abuse I endured in my previous marriage.

I dedicate this post to my husband.  I thank him for showing me the real meaning of love.

Does anyone do that special something for you?  I’d love to hear about it.

10 comments on “Good Men Really Do Exist

  1. Coach Sue says:

    Kathy they do exist. I have one living in my house right now. My husband. He tells me “I love you” all the time. He gets me things when I don’t want to get up. He brings me breakfast in bed. He supports my business efforts. I know I am loved and that makes such a difference from my previous marriage. Thank you for the post so that other women may have hope.

    Sue Bock
    http://couragetoadventurecoaching.wordpress.com

    • kathylashley says:

      Thanks for your comments Sue. I’m glad you know exactly what I mean. It’s wonderful to have someone who truly loves me for me. Maybe we had to go through our previous marriages to appreciate the one we have now.

  2. Sweet sweet sweet. Sometimes it takes surviving a bad marriage to know how to appreciate a good man and it sounds like God really did good with Emory!

  3. seakist says:

    What a beautiful post! I got chills reading it! And you know I have a wonderful husband too. I feel bad for people who think great men don’t exist — seems they’d rather be bitter than look harder or wait until the timing is right.

  4. Bird says:

    I married a common man, but I’ve whipped him into shape and now he just shines!! lol..just kidding. Seriously, I really got an excellent husband. He’s a handful but he makes me laugh all the time, so I’ll deal with all the other stuff. Cool article!

    Also, I just really adore reading posts that use the word “gag” in them! Awesome!!

    • kathylashley says:

      I’ve got a handful for a husband myself and things are NEVER dull around the house but he’s great and we have a blast. Thanks for the “gag” comment. Wasn’t sure if I wanted to say that but it just seemed to fit.

      It’s inspirational to know so many women do have good men. It seems we tend to hear more of the negative and so I love to hear just the opposite.

      Thanks for leaving a comment!

      • Bird says:

        When you are dealing with another human being, there are plenty of negative things to say about them. My husband defiled my tweezers… 🙂 . But, when I balance out the garbage with the wonderful things about him, he always comes out a winner. I think really happy marriages are made of people who focus on all the good stuff, and then just try to laugh and dismiss the nonsense. I know he has to do that with my insanity all the time… I’m really enjoying your site!!

      • kathylashley says:

        I couldn’t agree more! Thanks for looking around. I’ve only had this blog for a month, but it’s amazing how much fun I’m having.

Leave a Reply

