The Game of Tag Question


I haven’t played tag since I was a kid so I’m guessing this is a grown up version of tag.  It’s been a few days since Bird @ Everyone Has a Story asked me to play so here it goes…….

Photo Credit:  Microsoft Office

Tag – you’re it!’ – The rules:

You must post these rules.

 Answer the question the “tagger” listed for you in their post,

  1. And create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
  2. Choose 11 people to tag and link to them in the post.
  3. Let each blogger know that you have tagged them.

Bird’s question for me was,  “If you could change just one thing about the American public school system, what would it be?”

I’ve only been in the schools talking about abstinence for the past year, so “intellectually”, I don’t know enough of the politics within the school system to really give an educated answer.  Having said that, I’ve decided to answer the question showing my readers some of the questions I get asked by students during a small group meeting outside the school environment.

If I am able to speak to a group of teenagers more than once then before ending my first session with them, I tell them they can have a blank index card to write a question they want me to answer on my next visit.  It’s no surprise that several hands go in the air to receive a card but only after promising anonymity.

Once I am home, I take the cards out and begin reading each one carefully.  Some make me laugh but most of them bring tears to my eyes knowing these precious children need something to believe in.  After many prayers, lots of research and conversations with a minister/colleague of mine at Women’s Hope Medical Clinic, I put together some information for these hurting children.  So here are only a FEW of the questions…..

  1. Can you help me make goals and plans for my life?
  2. How can I get over being raped?
  3. How can I make my dreams come true living in foster care?
  4. How and when do I tell a boy I don’t want to have sex?
  5. My parents can’t afford college.  How can I go if I can’t pay for it?
  6. I heard it was safer to have sex in the water.  Is that true?

There are so many other questions I could list and I just might do that in another blog (thanks for the idea Bird!).  So, what should we be teaching in the school systems?  I don’t know if I have the right answer but what I do know is that a huge problem exists and I only reach a small percentage of these children.  Should the schools be teaching the answer to these questions?  Yes to some of them, but maybe parents should teach their children the answers to ALL of them.  Can’t parents answers all the above questions?  We (parents) say we don’t want the school teaching our children about certain issues, yet there’s a reason why I get asked these questions.

To get back to the game, here are the following fellow bloggers and I would love to hear from.

  1. LuckyLeo – At what point in your life did you know you were known as “edgy” and what does that look like?
  2. Coach Sue – How many clients do you usually have at one time?
  3. Laura Dickey – Other than writing, where is another avenue your creative energy flows?
  4. Sherry – What is the toughest question to answer by a client at Women’s Hope Medical Clinic?
  5. ks ballou – What’s the farthest you have traveled to take one of your posted pictures?
  6. Even a Girl Like Me – What steps have you taken to improve on the “people pleasing” issue?  (I have the same problem)
  7. MomMeetsBlog – How’s those tweezers been treating you lately?

Please excuse me from the other 4.  For now 7 will just have to do.  I had a great time answering my question and hope you will too!

Kathy

8 comments on “The Game of Tag Question

  1. seakist says:

    Oh wow, I don’t know if I have 11 bloggers I’m following yet, but your question definitely makes for a good blog next time I post (I’m running around this morning, I have a reporter gig early this morning). But to answer your question — I don’t know if I’m “known” as edgy. That’s a term I gave to describe myself because I don’t quite fit into any style and create my own. A lot of friends actually say I am “stylish” which always surprises me because I don’t feel that way at all. I’m just good at matching and mixing patterns and I know what looks good on me. If you want to see a bunch of photos, go through the archives of my website/newsletter: http://www.peartreeenterprises.com — I’ve been told by a few that I don’t even look like the same girl, that I look different every month. Like I said in another post, I can look rock ‘n’ roll and also conservative (but never 100 percent conservative because of the messy hair and tattoos). Hope that answers your question 🙂

  2. Sue Bock says:

    Thank you Kathy. Since I am still working as a full time RN in ICU, I coach up to 6 clients at a time. This helps keep my life in balance. Some ask why I do both and the answer? I love both and I can keep both if I choose too.

    Sue Bock
    http://couragetoadventurecoaching.wordpress.com

  3. […] I was a kid so I’m guessing this is a grown up version of tag.  It’s been a few days since Kathy Plashley of A Life of Freedom asked me to play so here it […]

  4. Thanks for asking me to come out and play! (I hope I did this right. . . ) http://wp.me/p22xxF-b6

  5. kathylashley says:

    I appreciate you playing. Now off to read your reply!

Leave a Reply

