These Shoes Saved the Day!


Whew…..another semester down and 3 more to go!

I thought I would share a funny story about what I did yesterday now that I have time to breathe after such a brutal week of 2 major projects, 2 tests, and 2 essays.

So yesterday morning I had an 8am final that I knew was going to be pretty tough and I had studied the night before as much as my brain would allow. I get up on time and get ready for school and although I usually eat breakfast, this week has been stressful and I haven’t been hungry.  My poor husband had fixed me pancakes and I tried but nope….couldn’t do it.  Thanks goodness he loves me anyway. 🙂

Emory walks me to the truck and I’m headed to take the final.  Keep in mind that I live 35 minutes from campus.  I left at 7:10am and get half way to school when I look down at my feet.  Guess what?  I have NO shoes on!  What in the world am I going to do?  It’s too late to turn around because I’d never get there on time!  Who does this?  Who forgets to put their shoes on?  My husband, I’ve got to call my husband!  Where’s the phone!  I can’t find my cell phone!  Oh wait…it’s in my lap.  Okay, Okay….I can do this!  I’ll get him to bring the shoes!  Yea that’s it!  By this time I look at the clock it’s 7:30.  Since he is a State Trooper and was working do you think this calls for blue lights?  Yes, of course it does!  (In my dreams because that would be breaking the law!)

There’s no way even if I do get him on the phone there would be time for him to bring me shoes.  Did I happen to mention that I live in the COUNTRY and the only thing I would pass is a CVS pharmacy?  I’m still calling him because at this point I’m needing some moral support right?  As we are talking this out, I look over and what do I see?  Could it be?  Yes!  Yes!  There’s a pair of heels in the floor board!  Shouts of thank you go out to the Lord!  Once again He planned for my careless brain!  As I said my goodbye to hubby, I could still hear him laughing at me.

I thought I would share some reactions from the people who love me.

  • My sister tells me, “Well you are from the country.”  My response was, “What would I have done had I not had those heels, gone barefoot?”  (Don’t put it past me and my jeans were long enough, maybe no one would notice much).
  • My sister-in-law said, “That’s worse than wearing two different color shoes to work.” I told her “Thanks you’ve made me feel SOOOO much better.”
  • My friend Christina says, “That’s worse than a naked dream come true but a REAL woman has a pair of heels handy.” I said to Christina, ” I am a REAL woman but really a woman who takes her shoes off in the car and doesn’t clean it out.”

It takes me a good 10-15 minutes after parking to get to the classroom because we (students) have to park in the back 40 of the campus!  I strut my stuff walking to that classroom.  There’s just something about slipping on a pair of heels that your personality changes (at least for me) and after this fiasco of a morning, I needed to feel in charge!  I got a few stares but who cares?  At least I was looking good, which is more than I can say about many of the college girls I see (but that’s another post).

I took my test and pranced out the door in my Ferragamo shoes!   

Living this life of freedom allows me to tell these silly stories where in the past I would’ve never even dared to tell.  I’m glad that I’ve come to a place where I can finally laugh at myself.  It sure makes it more fun!

12 comments on “These Shoes Saved the Day!

  1. seakist says:

    Too darn cute! And this, is something my husband would call a “Lucy” (as in “I Love Lucy”) story — as I have many of them myself 😉

  2. K.S. Ballou says:

    Love it! How great is our God that He prepares the solution to every problem, even sometimes through our own forgetfulness 🙂

    I hope you did great on the test!

    • kathylashley says:

      God cares about the small stuff and I am grateful to Him for taking care of me yesterday. I know I wouldn’t have handled the situation the same way had it been 4 or 5 years ago. God has brought me a long way. And I made an “A” in the class, so I’m very happy!!!!

  3. Kelvin Cubitt says:

    Kathy I have been laughing at this since yesterday! Go have a LARGE diet Coke lol……you deserve it and need it.

    • kathylashley says:

      After taking that test I drove straight to Chick-Fila and did exactly that. I’ve enjoyed sitting by you in class and glad that I could give you a few laughs. I look forward to having class with you this summer!Thanks for looking up my blog!

  4. This is too funny! I’ve left the house with my slippers on, but never barefoot! Congrats on making an “A ” in your class!

    • kathylashley says:

      I can honestly say I’ve never done anything like that before in my life! Thanks for the congrats! I am glad this semester is over, its been a long one!

  5. jmc5407 says:

    Great post. I do things like this ALL the time. I have never gone out barefoot, but once I made it to church and realized I had two different shoes on. Lucky for me, I only live about 5 minutes away from my church so I turned around and got a matching pair. I’ve also left the house in slippers.

  6. Yvonne says:

    Loved this post! I have such a similar story that happened to me but haven’t had a chance to post about it (getting to that next). I realize now that the “mommy forgetfullness” is not a myth!

    • kathylashley says:

      It’s not a myth but I’m not so sure I can use that as my excuse anymore since all my children are grown and no longer live with me……. 🙂

      I can’t wait to read your story!

Leave a Reply

